Mister Bird

~ Folk & Roots

Get Tickets

Thursday, July 18

8:00 p.m.

$25 / members $21.25 / youth $12.50

Wayfaring and whimsical, weaving stories into melodies, in his own bluesy/folk, foot-tapping style. Mister Bird highlights the magic of the wild & the subtle miracles of everyday. Recognized for his heart moving performances, and his rich and rusty voice. Leaving his listeners feeling as though they’ve lived the song…

Born and raised in the Bow Valley, Gareth Bruce aka Mister Bird, grew up with the Rocky Mountains and a forest as his backyard. You can hear his love for nature and the great unknown pouring out through his music. Mister Bird has self recorded and released 4 independent albums. All raw, original.. and as real as it gets. And has independently toured all across Canada. His latest album ~ Moving Mountains ~ is his first studio album, recorded at Barnhouse sound studio on Vancouver Island. In his own words “ This has been a long time coming .“ As the title suggests ~ Moving Mountains ~ is inspired by the impossible. Written from personal experiences, that explore the darker shades of blue, and what it truly means to belong.

Strewn with nostalgia and stories that dissolve limiting beliefs, it celebrates the struggles and the surreal beauty of life, encouraging and empowering its listeners to question their expectations, and to expand their horizons. Learning to see challenges as opportunities to grow.

In a sweet and savoury blend of modern alternative folk and muddy water blues ~ Moving Mountains ~ navigates the peaks and valleys of life. Inspiring curiosity, instilling hope and reminding you that anything is possible.

Opening Act

Léa McCroy

In a unique blend of traditional folk and her own style, Léa weaves stories and sentient into her songs. Born in the Canadian Rockies, she has been fortunate enough to draw inspiration from her outdoor adventures and the ebbs and flows of life. Her love for music is shown in her performances as she comes to life and gets carried away by a song.

Generously supported by

Experiencing the arts is a right regardless of financial means. Learn about the Discover Art Access Program here.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
August 9, September 6, September 11 and October 11

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 5

Leeroy Stagger

Live Music
Sunday, September 22

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Saturday, January 18

Land's End Ensemble

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes

Live Music
Thursday, February 20

Nicky Shrire

Live Music
Friday, February 21

Black Umfolosi

Live Music
Thursday, March 6

Morgan Toney

Live Music
Wednesday, March 12

Lucy MacNeil

Live Music
Sunday, March 16

Prairie Sons

Live Music
Sunday, April 6

Còig

Live Music
Tuesday, April 8

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Friday, May 2

Ellen Doty

Live Music
Saturday, May 24

Amy Nelson

Live Music
Saturday, June 7

Trio Taleco