Another Life by Elise Lavallee Findlay

RISE Emerging Artist Exhibition

MAR. 30 - MAY 1

March 30 - May 1, 2024

Thursday, April 4 at 5:30 p.m.

FREE

MAR. 30 - MAY 1

Another Life examines the challenges faced by women working in the construction trades, reflecting the Artist's own life experience. It explores the way the small everyday battles can lead to burnout, and more broadly, to gender disparity in the trades. 

For Elise Lavallee Findlay, creating the sculptures is a process of transformation. If you pull one thread from a canvas, and then another and another, the canvas can break down, leaving it fragile, transparent, and not at all what it once was. For the artist, pulling apart a canvas thread by thread, in an act of slow and subtle violence, became a meditative reflection on how the small things can add up. This series displays how something once pulled apart can be made into something new, with its own strengths and purpose.

In this exhibition, the sculptures, which started as simple representations of past trauma, become art objects, whole and complete in and of themselves. They are an echo of the transformation that happens within ourselves when we work towards healing and become something new.

Elise Lavallee Findlay, a Banff-based visual artist, is known for her versatile, process-driven practice. Her work delves into the exploration of community, place, identity, and the intricacies of human interaction with the world.

Graduating with distinction in 2023, Elise was honored with the prestigious Board of Governor's Award at the Alberta University of the Arts. At AUArts, Elise majored in Drawing with a minor in Object Design, using various mediums to express her artistic vision. Her commitment to lifelong learning is evident in her diverse educational background, which includes a Red Seal Cabinetmaker certificate and a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology and Comparative Religion from Dalhousie University.

Community engagement holds a significant place in Elise's artistic practice. She actively collaborates with social agencies, utilizing art as a catalyst for social change and community strengthening. Elise serves on the Public Art Committee for the Town of Banff and is the founder of “Local Love,” a community craft-based group that organizes art and craft events to foster creativity and community building.

Elise Lavallee Findlay's artistic journey encompasses her exploration of place, identity, and social issues, all while actively engaging with and empowering her community through art. As she continues to evolve, her passion for lifelong learning and dedication to creating meaningful art that instigates positive change will shape her future artistic endeavors. Looking ahead, she aspires to further her artistic journey by pursuing a master's degree in Fine Art, while also establishing her studio in her hometown of Banff.

artsPlace RISE Emerging Artist Program is generously supported by

RISE Emerging Artist Program

RISE is an annual exhibition and mentorship program developed by artsPlace to offer Alberta artists the opportunity to educate, exhibit, sell, and promote their artistic practice within the Bow Valley. The goal of RISE is to cultivate Alberta’s emerging artists by pairing an exhibition opportunity with mentorship by a local art professional. Participating artists build experience in exhibition design, installation and professional practice.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
August 9, September 6, September 11 and October 11

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 5

Leeroy Stagger

Live Music
Sunday, September 22

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Saturday, January 18

Land's End Ensemble

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes

Live Music
Thursday, February 20

Nicky Shrire

Live Music
Friday, February 21

Black Umfolosi

Live Music
Thursday, March 6

Morgan Toney

Live Music
Wednesday, March 12

Lucy MacNeil

Live Music
Sunday, March 16

Prairie Sons

Live Music
Sunday, April 6

Còig

Live Music
Tuesday, April 8

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Friday, May 2

Ellen Doty

Live Music
Saturday, May 24

Amy Nelson

Live Music
Saturday, June 7

Trio Taleco