A Queens Celebration

Curated by Michelle “Magic” Bennie

May 5 - June 18, 2024

May 5 - June 18, 2024

Monday, May 6, 5:30PM – 8PM *FREE & OPEN TO EVERYONE*

FREE

May 5 - June 18, 2024

A Queens Celebration, curated by Michelle "Magic" Bennie, presents a group show of artists from the National accessArts Centre woven together through an imaginative tale of four seasons. Magic dances in the winds, and queens reign supreme over the ever-shifting seasons—four seasons, four queens, suited and stacked in a house of cards. 

Josephine Powers reigns as the Queen of Clubs, embodying the vitality and warmth of Summer. Ruby NightClub, the enigmatic Queen of Spades, portrays the mysterious allure of Fall, while Magic Rosemary, the Queen of Hearts, encapsulates the serene elegance of Winter. Venus Sky, the Queen of Diamonds, symbolizes the blossoming energy of Spring with her striking power of 'Diamond Lightning.'

Using works selected from the NaAC's roster of artists, Bennie's narrative threads the exhibition together, illuminating the interconnectedness between each queen's superpower and the creation of Earth's seasons.

"This work whispers while this one yells. It's a tale as old as time." -  Michelle “Magic” Bennie

About National accessArts Centre (NaAC)

Canada’s oldest and largest disability arts organization

The National accessArts Centre (NaAC) was founded as the In-Definite Arts Society in 1975. We provide artistic training, creation, and exhibition/presentation opportunities for artists with developmental, physical, and acquired disabilities.

The NaAC supports more than 300 artists living with developmental and/or physical disabilities through on-site studio supports and workshops, and an even broader community of Canadian artists with disabilities through immersive programs delivered online.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
August 9, September 6, September 11 and October 11

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 5

Leeroy Stagger

Live Music
Sunday, September 22

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Saturday, January 18

Land's End Ensemble

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes

Live Music
Thursday, February 20

Nicky Shrire

Live Music
Friday, February 21

Black Umfolosi

Live Music
Thursday, March 6

Morgan Toney

Live Music
Wednesday, March 12

Lucy MacNeil

Live Music
Sunday, March 16

Prairie Sons

Live Music
Sunday, April 6

Còig

Live Music
Tuesday, April 8

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Friday, May 2

Ellen Doty

Live Music
Saturday, May 24

Amy Nelson

Live Music
Saturday, June 7

Trio Taleco