Obsidiana Duo

Presented in partnership with Prairie Debut

Get Tickets

Thursday, February 8

7:30 p.m.

$30 / members $25.50 / youth $15

Music subscriptions available: choose the concerts that best fit your taste this season and SAVE on tickets! Learn more.

TICKET OPTIONS

Concert

Individual Tickets

Tickets go on sale Dec. 6 for members & Dec. 8 for the general public.

Subscribe and Save!

Flex Live Music Subscription

Tickets available through subscriptions on July 24 at 9:00 am.

Experience rediscovered gems from Ibero-American musical culture and history, as vocalist Camila Montefusco and pianist Yolanda Tapia share their passion for performing folk art music at the highest artistic level.

Obsidiana Duo take their name from the glassy volcanic rock at the heart of ancient Mesoamerican culture – a sacred stone with the ability to reflect light from darkness. The rich colour and tone of Montefusco’s mezzo-soprano voice pairs with Tapia’s vibrant classical piano in this showcase of historically-excluded composers and repertoire celebrating an intriguing diversity.

Since first meeting at the University of Western Ontario in 2019, Montefusco and Tapia have formed a solid musical bond which casts a glow on exquisite folk songs from their countries of origin (Brazil and Mexico). Combined with Canadian lullabies and ballads which highlight the love and respect they have for their adopted country, this program spotlights a wide variety of music styles and traditions drawn from across the Americas.

Generously supported by

Experiencing the arts is a right regardless of financial means. Learn about the Discover Art Access Program here.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
August 9, September 6, September 11 and October 11

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 5

Leeroy Stagger

Live Music
Sunday, September 22

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Saturday, January 18

Land's End Ensemble

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes

Live Music
Thursday, February 20

Nicky Shrire

Live Music
Friday, February 21

Black Umfolosi

Live Music
Thursday, March 6

Morgan Toney

Live Music
Wednesday, March 12

Lucy MacNeil

Live Music
Sunday, March 16

Prairie Sons

Live Music
Sunday, April 6

Còig

Live Music
Tuesday, April 8

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Friday, May 2

Ellen Doty

Live Music
Saturday, May 24

Amy Nelson

Live Music
Saturday, June 7

Trio Taleco