La Fiammata

Presented in partnership with Prairie Debut

Get Tickets

Thursday, March 7

7:30 p.m.

$30 / members $25.50 / youth $15

Music subscriptions available: choose the concerts that best fit your taste this season and SAVE on tickets! Learn more.

TICKET OPTIONS

Concert

Individual Tickets

Tickets go on sale Dec. 6 for members & Dec. 8 for the general public.

Subscribe and Save!

Flex Live Music Subscription

Tickets available through subscriptions on July 24 at 9:00 am.

“IT WAS IMMEDIATELY APPARENT TO ME, FROM THE VERY FIRST TIME I HEARD THEM, THAT THESE TWO HAD THAT MAGIC EXTRA SOMETHING AS A DUO. TOGETHER, THEY BECOME MORE THAN TWICE AS GOOD.”

– James Anagnoson, Dean of the Glenn Gould School

Although they first met as competitors, the initial spark of connection between Linda Ruan and Charissa Vandikas has grown into a steady flame. Now they are fast friends and performing partners, joining forces as the one piano four hands duo La Fiammata. The result is a firecracker of performance, with the poetry of Vandikas’ playing contrasting Ruan’s explosion of energy. La Fiammata has made an impression on the musical world, taking second place in the 70th ARD International Music Competition in Munich.

The program is a musical dialogue about the importance of community, connection and shared experience, in a blend of contemporary and established landmarks for piano four hands. Love Letters to Humanity opens with Beethoven’s light-hearted reflection on friendship, continues with meditations influenced by nature and the spaces we occupy, and concludes with contrasting furious and romantic selections by Franz Schubert.

La Fiammata were Grand Prix winners of the 2017 Canadian Music Competitions Grand Prix, and took first place at the North-West International Piano Ensemble Competition as well as top prizes at the Suzana Szorenyi International Piano Duo Competition in Romania. The duo has been featured on CBC Radio’s In Concert show, and premiered Canadian works including Julia Mermelstein’s “density swells upclose in breath.”

Praised for their “dizzying musicality” by Süddeutsche Zeitung, La Fiammata is a flame which will continue to blaze brighter.

Generously supported by

Experiencing the arts is a right regardless of financial means. Learn about the Discover Art Access Program here.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
August 9, September 6, September 11 and October 11

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 5

Leeroy Stagger

Live Music
Sunday, September 22

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Saturday, January 18

Land's End Ensemble

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes

Live Music
Thursday, February 20

Nicky Shrire

Live Music
Friday, February 21

Black Umfolosi

Live Music
Thursday, March 6

Morgan Toney

Live Music
Wednesday, March 12

Lucy MacNeil

Live Music
Sunday, March 16

Prairie Sons

Live Music
Sunday, April 6

Còig

Live Music
Tuesday, April 8

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Friday, May 2

Ellen Doty

Live Music
Saturday, May 24

Amy Nelson

Live Music
Saturday, June 7

Trio Taleco