Garneau String Quartet with Lori Gemmill and Tom Allen - The Music of Talk

~ Classical

Get Tickets

Saturday, September 28

7:30 p.m.

$45 / members $38.25 / youth $22.50

TICKET OPTIONS

Concert

Individual Tickets

Individual tickets go on sale July 15 at 9:00 a.m.

Save on Tickets & Get Best Seats!

Flexible Music Subscription

Tickets are available through subscriptions July 4 at 9:00 am

In the earlier days of the COVID pandemic, after a series of outdoor concerts, the Garneau String Quartet was formed and recently became Ensemble-in-Residence at MacEwan University Conservatory of Music in Edmonton. The quartet is comprised of members of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra - violinists Robert Uchida and Laura Veeze, violist Keith Hamm, and cellist Julie Hereish.

The Music of Talk is a concert program by The Garneau String Quartet and harpist Lori Gemmell with narration by storyteller and broadcaster Tom Allen. With compelling music by Josef Haydn, Marjan Mozetich and a brand new work by Canadian composer Nicole Lizee, The Music of Talk explores our deep, subconscious understanding of the melodies of speech, the language of music and neurological crossroads between the two.

Generously supported by

Music Subscriptions

Have you heard about our flexible music subscription packages?

Purchase multiple concerts: pick from any 2024/2025 season concerts to save on tickets & get the best seats!

- Buy 5 or more concerts that best fit your tastes & schedule

- Choose from your favourite musical genres or mix & match to experience a bit of everything

- Save up to 20%!

- Get the best seats (the more you buy the higher your priority)

- Exchange tickets for any other concert

- Return unused tickets for a tax receipt

Experiencing the arts is a right regardless of financial means. Learn about the Discover Art Access Program here.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
June 14, July 12, August 9 and September 6

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Thursday, June 27

Mari Rosehill

Live Music
Saturday, July 6

AmpFest III

Live Music
Thursday, July 18

Gareth Bruce

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 26

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes