The Place I Am - A Group Exhibition by the Clematis Collective

RISE Emerging Artist Exhibition

FEB. 17 - MAR. 24

February 17 - March 24, 2024

Thursday, Feb. 22 at 5:30 p.m.

FREE

FEB. 17 - MAR. 24

The Clematis Collective is comprised of Vivian Smith, Laura Olive, Elise Findlay and Natalie Melara.

The Place I Am investigates our understanding of the places we work and live in, and by extension, the idea of ‘home’, through nature.

As a collective brought together through mutual mental health struggles, we recognize that nature allows for the space to process our experiences and to find connections during times of disconnection from others. A variety of responses from the artists in the collective to the theme have emerged, including different reactions to ideas of identity and resiliency, support and stability, and of finding home and connection with mental health through nature.

The exhibition has evolved over time as new artists join the collective and new work is created; each piece illuminating an artist's personal story on nature's essential role in mental health. By showcasing the symbiosis of environment and mental health, The Place I Am challenges viewers to reflect on how our surroundings mould our sense of self and belonging.

In an era emphasizing responsible environmental stewardship, the exhibition underscores the vital role a healthy environment plays in mental well-being, urging us to find stability in the shared landscapes of our world.

The Source
Pearls On A String
Rooted In Place
Can You See Me
Meda Una Horchata

artsPlace RISE Emerging Artist Program is generously supported by

RISE Emerging Artist Program

RISE is an annual exhibition and mentorship program developed by artsPlace to offer Alberta artists the opportunity to educate, exhibit, sell, and promote their artistic practice within the Bow Valley. The goal of RISE is to cultivate Alberta’s emerging artists by pairing an exhibition opportunity with mentorship by a local art professional. Participating artists build experience in exhibition design, installation and professional practice.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
August 9, September 6, September 11 and October 11

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 5

Leeroy Stagger

Live Music
Sunday, September 22

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Saturday, January 18

Land's End Ensemble

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes

Live Music
Thursday, February 20

Nicky Shrire

Live Music
Friday, February 21

Black Umfolosi

Live Music
Thursday, March 6

Morgan Toney

Live Music
Wednesday, March 12

Lucy MacNeil

Live Music
Sunday, March 16

Prairie Sons

Live Music
Sunday, April 6

Còig

Live Music
Tuesday, April 8

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Friday, May 2

Ellen Doty

Live Music
Saturday, May 24

Amy Nelson

Live Music
Saturday, June 7

Trio Taleco