Aimee-Jo Benoit and The New Assembly: Horns of Hope

~ Jazz & Blues

Get Tickets

Saturday, April 12

7:30 p.m.

$35 / members $29.75 / youth $17.50

TICKET OPTIONS

Concert

Individual Tickets

Individual tickets go on sale in December 2024

Save on Tickets & Get Best Seats!

Flexible Music Subscription

Tickets are available through subscriptions July 4 at 9:00 am

“Aimee-Jo Benoit’s approach to Jazz, particularly Joni Mitchell’s songbook, is heartfelt, whimsical, fresh and creative. She’s an artist whose beautiful humanity and sensitive approach to life cannot be separated from what she brings to the music, on recording and in performance.”
— Laila Biali, Juno-winning musician and host of CBC music's Saturday Night Jazz

Calgary vocalist Aimee-Jo Benoit has established herself as a sought after vocalist in the jazz community. In June 2020, Benoit released BORJONER, a collection of arrangements of all Canadian folk, pop and rock with Trio Velocity. This past March 29, she released her sophomore effort, Horns of Hope on Chronograph Records. The album’s 8 tracks are all Canadian, featuring compositions by Sarah Harmer, Joni Mitchell, Daniel Lanois, Leonard Cohen, Kathleen Edwards and K.D Lang, with arrangements by Calgary’s Carsten Rubeling. This is not an unusual course for the bandleaders, Benoit and Rubeling, whose previous Canadian explorations together in the Both Sides Now Ensemble is what sparked this new collaborative project.

The New Assembly members are: Carsten Rubeling on Trombone, Mark DeJong on Tenor Saxophone and Bass Clarinet, Andre Wickenheiser on Trumpet, Mark Limacher on Piano and Fender Rhodes, Dan Gaucher on Drums and Jon Wielebnowski on Bass. These musicians, educators and collaborators bring a wealth of experience from rich backgrounds in performance within the jazz genre giving The New Assembly its unique voice.

“Aimee-Jo Benoit is an interpreter with a unique voice and a very personal universe that make her a one-of-a-kind artist. ” — thierry de clemensat, paris-move

Generously supported by

Music Subscriptions

Have you heard about our flexible music subscription packages?

Purchase multiple concerts: pick from any 2024/2025 season concerts to save on tickets & get the best seats!

- Buy 5 or more concerts that best fit your tastes & schedule

- Choose from your favourite musical genres or mix & match to experience a bit of everything

- Save up to 20%!

- Get the best seats (the more you buy the higher your priority)

- Exchange tickets for any other concert

- Return unused tickets for a tax receipt

Experiencing the arts is a right regardless of financial means. Learn about the Discover Art Access Program here.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
August 9, September 6, September 11 and October 11

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 5

Leeroy Stagger

Live Music
Sunday, September 22

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Saturday, January 18

Land's End Ensemble

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes

Live Music
Thursday, February 20

Nicky Shrire

Live Music
Friday, February 21

Black Umfolosi

Live Music
Thursday, March 6

Morgan Toney

Live Music
Wednesday, March 12

Lucy MacNeil

Live Music
Sunday, March 16

Prairie Sons

Live Music
Sunday, April 6

Còig

Live Music
Tuesday, April 8

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Friday, May 2

Ellen Doty

Live Music
Saturday, May 24

Amy Nelson

Live Music
Saturday, June 7

Trio Taleco