Hilario Duran Trio

~ Global Jazz

Get Tickets

Thursday, June 20

7:30 p.m.

$35 / members $29.75 / youth $17.50

Multiple Juno and National Jazz Award-winner, and Grammy nominee, acclaimed Cuban-Canadian pianist Hilario Duran brings his trio featuring Roberto Occhipinti on bass and Mark Kelso on drums to artsPlace for a night of an extraordinary evening of Latin jazz showcasing the Oscar Peterson songbook performed with his own unique Cuban twist.

A graduate of the Amadeo Rodan Conservatory (1981), Hilario worked with the legendary Arturo Sandoval as arranger, pianist, and Musical Director, performing at major festivals throughout the world, sharing the stage with such jazz royalty as Dizzy Gillespie, Herbie Hancock, Michel Legrand, Wynton Marsalis and countless others. In 1998 he immigrated to Toronto and has been a fixture on the Canadian jazz scene ever since.

“Hilario Durán is an unparalleled pianist, as well as being a composer and arranger of the first order…one of the greatest Cuban pianists of the 20th century”. — Chucho Valdés

Generously supported by

Experiencing the arts is a right regardless of financial means. Learn about the Discover Art Access Program here.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
August 9, September 6, September 11 and October 11

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 5

Leeroy Stagger

Live Music
Sunday, September 22

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Saturday, January 18

Land's End Ensemble

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes

Live Music
Thursday, February 20

Nicky Shrire

Live Music
Friday, February 21

Black Umfolosi

Live Music
Thursday, March 6

Morgan Toney

Live Music
Wednesday, March 12

Lucy MacNeil

Live Music
Sunday, March 16

Prairie Sons

Live Music
Sunday, April 6

Còig

Live Music
Tuesday, April 8

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Friday, May 2

Ellen Doty

Live Music
Saturday, May 24

Amy Nelson

Live Music
Saturday, June 7

Trio Taleco