Rosa Barocca

~ Classical

Get Tickets

Thursday, April 25

7:30 p.m.

$45 / members $38.25 / youth $22.50

Music subscriptions available: choose the concerts that best fit your taste this season and SAVE on tickets! Learn more.

TICKET OPTIONS

Concert

Individual Tickets

Tickets go on sale Dec. 6 for members & Dec. 8 for the general public.

Subscribe and Save!

Flex Live Music Subscription

Tickets available through subscriptions on July 24 at 9:00 am.

Juno Award winning ensemble Rosa Barocca’s mission is to present Alberta audiences with historically informed performances of Baroque music using period instruments to capture the spirit, stylistic approach and distinctive sound of that glorious musical era.

Newly minted and comprised of musicians from across Canada, the ensemble had its debut in November 2016 with two greatly acclaimed performances of Purcell’s “Hail! Bright Cecilia” in Calgary and Red Deer under their Artistic Director Claude Lapalme. Since then, Rosa has performed more than a dozen concerts in collaboration with with VoiceScapes, Luminous Voices and Spiritus Chamber Choir as well a concerts presented by Early Music Voices and the Red Deer Symphony; and with celebrated artists such as Benjamin Butterfield, Andrew Mahon, Lawrence Wiliford and Elinor Frey. In April 2022, Rosa Barocca released its first CD – Early Italian Cello Concertos – with soloist Elinor Frey on the Analekta label. The CD was nominated for Best Classical Album of the Year for the ADISQ, and won the Best Classical Album of the Year – Small Ensemble – at the 2023 Juno awards.

 “The presence of Rosa Barocca gave the entire performance a sense of the Baroque historical period from which the music stems … with this performance of this great work, the promise of the past was realized in the finest performance of this work to be given in the city.” - Kenneth DeLong, Calgary Herald

Generously supported by

Experiencing the arts is a right regardless of financial means. Learn about the Discover Art Access Program here.

You May Also Like

See all
Local Music
June 14, July 12, August 9 and September 6

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Thursday, June 27

Mari Rosehill

Live Music
Saturday, July 6

AmpFest III

Live Music
Thursday, July 18

Gareth Bruce

Live Music
Saturday, August 24

Kaimerata

Live Music
Thursday, September 26

Harry Manx

Live Music
Thursday, October 10

Miscellany of Folk

Live Music
Sunday, October 20

Joel Frahm Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, October 22

The Once

Live Music
Thursday, October 24

Maria Dunn Trio

Live Music
Tuesday, November 5

Jacob Cordover

Live Music
Tuesday, November 12

Good Lovelies

Live Music
Saturday, November 30

Mike Tod

Live Music
Friday, January 10

The Woodshed

Live Music
Thursday, January 23

Madison Violet

Live Music
Tuesday, February 4

Catherine MacLellan

Live Music
Sunday, February 16

Moulettes