MUNCH. Love, Ghosts and Lady Vampires

'In the Gallery' Screening

Buy Tickets

Thursday, January 25

7 p.m.

$15 / members $12.75 / youth $7.50

No artist in the world is more famous, and yet lesser known, than Edvard Munch. If his Scream has become an icon of our times, the rest of his output is not as famous.

The documentary film MUNCH. LOVE, GHOSTS AND LADY VAMPIRES strives to shed new light on Edvard Munch, a profoundly mysterious, fascinating man, a trailblazer and a master for everyone who came after him. At the same time, it is also a journey through Munch's Norway, in search of the roots and identity of a universal artist, who invites us to question the main theme of his multifaceted work: his idea of Time. Munch wrote, "I do not paint what I see, but what I have seen." And indeed, he repeated his subjects, painting and repainting the same images and storing them in his studio, laying the foundations for producing Multiples. His personal concept of Time is reflected in a delicate, original balance between past and present, a tool for living one's existence, a bridge across the dimensions of the universe in order to make contact with the world of ghosts and spirits.

You May Also Like

See all
Live Music
Thursday, February 29

OKAN

French Films
Friday, March 1

Le plongeur

Movies
Tuesday, March 5

The Persian Version

Live Music
Thursday, March 7

La Fiammata

Mountain Culture
March 8, March 12 and March 16

Reel Rock 18

Live Music
Saturday, March 9

Huu Bac Quintet

Live Music
Thursday, March 14

Shane Hennessy

Live Music
Tuesday, March 19

Calgary Opera

Live Music
Saturday, March 23

Raine Hamilton

Live Music
Thursday, April 4

Roman Rabinovich

Live Music
Sunday, April 7

The Fretless

Movies
Tuesday, April 9

Poor Things

Local Music
April 12, May 17, June 14, July 12, August 9 and September 6

artsPlace Open Mic Nights

Live Music
Saturday, April 13

Notas de 4

Live Music
Thursday, April 25

Rosa Barocca

Live Music
Saturday, June 8

Robert Belinić